There are 13 official presidential libraries operated by the National Archives and Records Administration. The first was Franklin D. Roosevelt’s, who, for the first time, decided to leave his personal papers to the public. It kicked off a tradition with every president since, and even gave one to Herbert Hoover (the 4th official library).